John is one of the nicest people I’ve met, says Arshad

John is one of the nicest people I’ve met, says Arshad

John Abraham has a huge fan following, and the latest in his list of admirers is funnyman Arshad Warsi.

“John is a buddy. He is one of the nicest people I have ever met. He is so genuine. I think all parents should have a son like John Abraham. He even convinced Maria about my bike,” said Arshad.

Incidentally, both John and Arshad are avid bike enthusiasts and got on like a house on fire while shooting for Kabul Express, reports Bollywood Trade.

“The film is loosely based on director Kabir Khan and his friend Rajan’s experiences in Kabul. Kabir is a documentary filmmaker. I play Rajan while John plays Kabir in the film.

John is one of the nicest people I’ve met, says Arshad

“We both play journalists and it is about the adventures we have. There are three other characters – a Pakistani Taliban (militiaman), an Afghan driver and an American photo journalist.”
Shooting in Kabul must’ve been an arduous task, considering the deadly weather and reports about John contracting influenza?

“Doing anything in Afghanistan is like inviting trouble. We did receive threats and all but we had huge security. Travelling from our hotel to the location was unnerving, but once we reached the location we used to feel relaxed.”

Arshad also has a minuscule role in Zamaanat starring Amitabh Bachchan and Karisma Kapoor.

Shekhar Kapur directs Blair’s debut film

Shekhar Kapur directs Blair’s debut film

ibnlive.com

After his exit from 10 Downing Street, British Prime Minister Tony Blair has made his movie debut in a short film about climate change awareness, which is directed by filmmaker Shekhar Kapur.

The 54-year-old outgoing premier plays a “carbon crusader” in the film, titled Global Cool, that has blonde beauty, Sienna Miller playing a leading role.

The film was premiered at the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) awards ceremony at Yorkshire.

Blair said he has been preparing for the role for more than a decade and he felt great to be a part of the film.

”I have been preparing for this role for the last 10 years. So it was great to be part of Global Cool. But remember, I was only one of a billion people saving the planet in this movie, and they are all stars,” PTI quoted Blair as saying.


Type rest of the post here

‘Chak De India’ promo to be online next week

‘Chak De India’ promo to be online next week

Here is good news for Shah Rukh Khan fans. Come June 15 and they can catch the promo of his next release, ‘CHAK DE INDIA’, online, at Yash Raj’s official website.

For those who still do not know, the song promo of the August 10 release, ‘CHAK DE INDIA’, will also be included in the prints of Yash Raj’s next destined to succeed project, ‘JHOOM BARABAR JHOOM’ featuring the likes of Amitabh & Abhishek Bachchan, Bobby Deol, Preity Zinta and Lara Dutta, next Friday.

As may be recalled, the last Shah Rukh Khan starrer to have released was the Diwali 2006 trade defying super success, ‘DON’, that single handedly took on the might of the Salman, Akshay and Preity starrer, ‘JAAN-E-MANN’.

Amitabh Bachchan in a sasur-bahu saga?

Amitabh Bachchan in a sasur-bahu saga?
Big B plans to return to television. What’s more, he may act in a serial this time!

Amitabh Bachchan is set to return to the small screen. Whether it will be a non-fiction or a fiction show, the audiences will know for sure only after Big B sifts through the offers in hand.

Confirming the news on Monday morning, the actor says, “Yes, I’m definitely doing television again. Talks are on with several channels. And I plan to take up one or maybe even more of these offers very shortly.”

Will it be a game show, Big B laughs, “It’s too early to say right now. It could be another non-fictional show. But I’m not ruling out fiction either. I’ve a whole bunch of proposals from a whole bunch of channels. The offers are under serious consideration.”

Big B also talks about the just-concluded International Indian Film Awards (IIFA) ceremony at Yorkshire. “The crowds at Yorskhire were sensational,” he says. “The best part of the whole experience was the absolute joy of being with my entire family. Nothing can beat that.”

The return of the Ex? Dino-Bips back!


The return of the Ex?

Recently Dino and Bips have been making public appearances together. Now a close friend confirms that a reconciliation is on the cards

Dino Morea and Bipasha Basu surprised everyone when they were spotted together at the launch of Rocky S’s new store in town last Monday. Now there are reports that both, Dino and Bipasha, were inseparable at the recently concluded IIFA awards in Yorkshire.

This raises the inevitable question – are the two working towards reconciliation? Friends close to them have confirmed that the two are working on their relationship to rid themselves of the ‘ex’ tag. That should be soothing for Bipasha, whose relationship with John has been coasting on troubled waters for a while now.

An eye-witness from the recently-concluded International Indian Film Awards (IIFA) says, “Both Dino and Bipasha were seen backstage and they seemed pretty comfortable with each other. All through the show, they were seen holding hands backstage. While there is already a lot of talk about them, after they arrived together at Rocky’s show, the fact that they were together at IIFA has added more fuel to the rumours. They were backstage catching up with each other while the actors were performing and they made no bones about it.”

Another source at IIFA says, “Both Dino and Bipasha have stayed friends even after their break-up a few years ago. It was like two old buddies catching up for Dino and Bipasha and they were extremely comfortable with each other. However, Dino seemed very happy and pretty excited.”

Rumours also suggest that Dino is keen to work with Bipasha and has also asked a couple of corporate houses to work on a subject around them.

Bipasha Basu and Dino Morea dated for more than two years before breaking up in mid-2002. They met when they were modelling and were one of the most talked about couples of Bollywood. Incidentally, Dino was on Bipasha’s side when she first made her debut with Ajnabee. After that, they paired up for one of the biggest hits of 2002 – Vikram Bhatt’s Raaz. They mutually agreed to break up, but have remained friends ever since. Dino went on to date designer Nandita Mahtani and Bipasha is dating John Abraham who made his debut in Jism with her.

They also did Gunaah, Rakht and Ishq Hai Tumse together.

Both Dino and Bipasha were unavailable for comment.

Shahid-Bebo fail to create DDLJ magic

Shahid-Bebo fail to create DDLJ magic

Off-screen couple Shahid Kapur and Kareena Kapoor failed to recreate the famous Shah Rukh Khan-Kajol train sequence in the climax of Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jaayenge, while shooting for their forthcoming film at the Shimla station recently. The film, tentatively titled Train, being directed by Imtiaz Ali, was being shot at a busy hour at the station and despite repeated attempts, the couple couldn’t get it right. The director had to scrap the entire sequence from the film.

A unit member says, “Director Imtiaz explained to both of them that they had very little time on hand as the train officials would not allow them to shoot beyond a particular time for this scene. The scene required Kareena to come searching for Shahid who was in the train that was about to leave the platform. As the train moved out of the platform, Kareena was supposed to spot Shahid and try getting onto the train. Shahid, who would be standing on the footboard, had to pull Kareena’s hand and help her board the train. The passengers present were also requested to cooperate by allowing the train to leave an hour late because of this shoot. But when the actual shoot began, nothing happened the way it was planned.”

For the first few takes, the train moved a little faster than was expected. The motorman was then requested to take it more slowly. After that was done, Kareena couldn’t reach the bogie where Shahid was waiting for her to come. Then, after many retakes, when Kareena almost reached Shahid, she was a little afraid of holding his hand and hopping inside. This went on and on for almost an hour, as explained by the unit member.

He adds, “The real passengers who were inside the toy train were initially enjoying being a part of a film scene starring top Bollywood stars. But as time passed, and their train was more delayed than expected, they started voicing their displeasure to the railway officials present at the station. Imtiaz was getting nervous and was repeatedly asking Kareena to get the scene right. But despite several attempts, Kareena could not manage to hold Shahid’s hand and hop onto the train.”

Finally, Imtiaz called for a last take, failing which he announced that he would scrap the entire sequence from the film. Kareena decided to give it her best shot. But ultimately failed to do it right, explained the unit member.

“Imtiaz, though angry, did not say a word more to anyone and announced pack up. He has now decided to re-write this scene, making sure there is no train involved this time,” our source concludes.

Salman chachu ke saath

Salman chachu ke saath

Narmada Ahuja, Govinda’s daughter, walked the red carpet with her Salman chachu because her father was running late…

Yesterday we had reported that Salman Khan had walked the red carpet at International Indian Film Awards (IIFA) with a young girl. Well, the girl was none other than Narmada Ahuja, daughter of Govinda. Narmada happened to walk the red carpet with her ‘Salman chachu’, only by chance.

It happened thus. Govinda was running late at the Awards function and that’s when Narmada asked her father if she could go ahead with Salman chachu, to the venue. And Govinda said she could.

It is a well-known fact that both Salman and Govinda are the best of friends. In fact it was Salman who had bailed out Govinda when he was at an all time low recently. Salman also gave Govinda a fresh lease of life with films like Partner and Salaam-E-Ishq.

And yes, Salman treats Narmada like his own daughter and is extremely protective towards her. They are on nickname-terms, while Salman fondly calls her Namu, she calls him chachu.

I am about being different: John Abraham

I am about being different: John Abraham
IANS
Tuesday, June 12, 2007 10:04 IST

MUMBAI: John Abraham is trying to essay a wide variety of roles. The actor has recently wrapped up Anurag Basu’s “No Smoking” in which he plays a chain smoker trying to quit smoking and in Nagesh Kukunoor’s “Aashayein” he will be seen as a gambler.

“You know, John Abraham is about being different. And I want to work with directors who will present me differently. Anurag Basu is someone I’d like to work with again and again,” John told.

He is quite impressed with Basu, who has directed him in “No Smoking”, and describes him as a “volcano about to erupt”.

Read latest news at DNA
“I’ve just seen the film and I must say I am very proud of it. Anurag is a genius. I’m so confident about this film. This is the kind of cinema I always wanted to do. This is a very special film,” said John who played a Gandhian in Deepa Mehta’s Oscar nominated “Water”.

The actor has also adopted the one-film-at-a-time mantra.

“After three months in England I’ll again disappear for two months from Mumbai, this time to South India for ‘Aashayein’. We’ll wrap it up in one schedule. That’s how I’ll work from now on. One film at a time.”

John has no girl starring opposite him in “Aashayein”. “The plot revolves around me. Isn’t that nice for a change? I hope audiences won’t get bored watching me. I’m totally excited about working with Nagesh.”


After “Aashayein” John intends to take a break. “Everything is going well. Even when I’m out of Mumbai shooting, a very efficient staff and friends look after my endorsements and my other interests. I’m surrounded by people who know my mind and act as I would if I was in their place.

“I’m not unhappy being out of town, except for the weird rumours that are allowed to float in Mumbai when I’m absent. I’m such a chilled out guy, happy to be in my space. I make such an effort not to get into others’ space. I just do my work quietly. And still I get into these controversies.”

Asked if big production houses are upset by his refusal to do assignments like “Jhoom Barabar Jhoom”, John said: “I wouldn’t like to comment on that. But I’d like to say I’m really grateful to Aditya Chopra for giving me ‘Dhoom’, which turned around my career.

“You know, I know him from school where he was my senior. He’s a very good man. He understands the audiences completely. And I totally respect him for that. I don’t think he has a problem with me. And I certainly don’t have any problems with him. He’s a genuinely nice guy.

“As for big production houses being unhappy with me, what about UTV? They’ve a lot of faith in me. Isn’t UTV big? I think ‘Metro’ is a lovely film. I’d love to work with Anurag again.”

Amisha signs Yash Raj flick

Amisha signs Yash Raj flick
By: Vickey Lalwani

The actress will play a pivotal role in Kunal Kohli’s next

Amisha Patel has signed Kunal Kohli’s upcoming film starring Saif Ali Khan, Rani Mukerji and Rishi Kapoor (in a cameo).

Patel will play an important role in the film, which goes on floors in September.

Kunal keeps mum

While Patel is very excited about her inclusion in the Yash Raj camp, Kunal Kohli refrains from divulging the details about her portrayal. “

Yes, Amisha is doing my next film.

But if I tell you the details of her role, it would tantamount to letting out the story.” Kunal has just returned from Singapore and Bangkok where he was scouting for locales.

“The film will be shot mainly in Delhi. But I need one foreign country for certain portions. I haven’t yet decided which foreign country I’ll select. Let’s see,” he signs off.

Kunal had made a super-duper hit Hum Tum with Rani and Saif. He also has the credit of bringing back Kajol from her semi-retirement post her marriage to Ajay Devgan for his Aamir starrer Fanaa (2006).

Tusshar Kapoor gets a surprise response from Daya Nayak

Tusshar Kapoor gets a surprise response from Daya Nayak

Not too many people know Tusshar and super-cop Daya Nayak have shared a bonding from the time Tusshar did Raj Kumar Santoshi’s Khakee three years ago.

“Over there Mr. Nayak liked the way I played a cop and congratulated me for getting it right. This time after seeing me in Shootout At Lokhandwala, he liked the way I played the gangster. I guess being a cop he can see the view on the other side of law also.”

The success of Shootout… has put a smile on Ekta Kapoor’s kid-brother’s face. “Right before Shootout… I had two duds one after the other. I regret doing Kya Love Story Hai. But sometimes you end up doing the wrong films for the right reasons, like friendship. As for Good Boy Bad Boy, it underwent too many script changes during the shoot, until no one was sure what was happening. Shootout … was a shot in my arm.”

Tusshar brightens as he talks of all the preparation he undertook to play the uncouth gangster. “I admit I wasn’t familiar with the milieu language and the attitude of my gangster character Buwa. I had never played a Tapori before. But please I’m not one of those spoilt rich kids who know nothing about life. But yes, I was the youngest actor on the team and needed to work really hard to keep up with the rest.” The young actor underwent weeks of rehearsal before getting into the gangster’s skin. “Every morning I’d play my character’s dialogues on a tape to get the tone right. My director Apoorva Lakhia helped me a lot.”

The two have become close friends. “Apu will be making a film for Ekta’s company. But that will take some time. Before that Apu is doing another film. In the meanwhile no more mistakes in my career. My next release is Priyadarshan’s Dhol which was a real challenge… Not because I’m not familiar with comedy. Of course I am! My two big hits before Shootout… were Golmaal and our home production Kya Kool Hain Hum. But Dhol was unlike any of my previous comedies or the anything Priyan has done. At the beginning Priyan warned me and my costars…”

(And here Tusshar does a touching imitation of Priyan’s accent ) ‘I have no Akshay Kumar and no Paresh Rawail in Dhol. I’m depending on you boys’. I don’t think I’ve let him down.”

Coming up, another comedy featuring Paresh Rawail and Suniel Shetty with Tusshar directed by Ashwin Dheer , and a sequel to Kya Kool Hain Hum. So is he becoming typecast as a titter-actor? “How can you say that after Shootout…?” Tusshar protests. “Besides these comedies I’m also doing a thriller called Agar with Shreyas Talpade and Udita Goswami directed by Anant Mahadevan. That’s no laughing matter.”

As for the Kya Kool… sequel Tusshar promises, “It will be far more restrained. If the risqué lines and situations could bring in the youngsters, think of what a cleaned-out sequel can do!”